Google Reader POC Completed

02Mar09

For all intents and purposes, my Google Reader Windows Mobile client POC is finished.  I accomplished the following:

  • Proven that I can send HTTP requests to the Google Reader server from a mobile platform
  • Manipulate XML data in an efficient manner on a mobile platform
  • develop a Windows Mobile 6.1 application

I attached a screenshot below.  I simply request all my article tags.  In the parenthesis are the number of unread articles for each tag.  I have some ideas about the struture of this future application.  All I need is a name.

If you don’t know what Google Reader is, it is a RSS feed aggregator.  Many, many websites contain a feature called an RSS feed that is a list of articles hosted by that website.  With the RSS feed, you can view the site’s content without all the extra images, ads, flash, etc.  It’s a great tool.  Check out http://www.google.com/intl/en/googlereader/tour.html.

sshot008

Official development begins…

One Response to “Google Reader POC Completed”

  1. Haha….cool man…I JUST got my little dev environment set up and started tinkering around.

    As an aside….lol….I have an idea for a project that I want to do…probably in Java but I guess we’ll see. Let me know if you’re interested.


Leave a Reply

