Speeed Reader, Future Versions

10Jun09

Just a couple notes about future releases.

I am approaching v1.0 so I will be ramping up my efforts to stamp out as many bugs as possible in the next couple releases.  Feedback is important, so if you have any issues or recommendations leave a comment or send me an email and I will try to get back to you ASAP.

I will also be adding a lot of new functionality to future versions such as:

  • capability to view articles offline (heavily requested)
  • search
  • sharing articles (either Google Reader broadcast, SMS, or EMAIL)
  • Marking a whole subscription/tag/all articles as read
  • Paginating lists so you can view more articles while conserving your phones resources
  • Favicon support
  • Gesture support (limited to Windows Mobile 6.5)
  • Button shortcuts
  • Windows Mobile Standard support
  • more…

I will be opening up a closed beta test program in the next couple days so I can get some help identifying some of these bugs before each release.  If you are interested, leave a comment or send me an email and I will contact you with more details.

12 Responses to “Speeed Reader, Future Versions”

  1. 1 jpmatrix

    hello
    i m very interested in your beta test program!
    keep up the good work !

  2. 2 Emre SÜMENGEN

    Hi,
    I’m using a WM6.5 ROM on my Omnia 16GB and couldn’t get Speed Reader running, no matter how many times I’ve tried. (At some point in the past, I really remember trying it on a WM6.1 ROM, too).

    Everytime I start the app, it gives an error saying something like “Error occured while reading settings from registry. Re-instal Speeee Reader”.

    Is it something known?

    • 3 emuneee

      I’m not too sure, that error signifies the program is having trouble reading the registry settings. Have you tried to reinstall?

  3. 4 chris10230

    Im up for the closed beta testing if you still need people also running 6.5.

  4. 5 Fede

    Hi! I can help you in case you need to test WinMo Std 6.

  5. Feel free to contact me about testing. I’m running Windows Mobile Professional 6.1 on a Treo Pro.

  6. 7 Khidr

    I’m happy to help with feedback. I’m running a treo pro, but also have a kaiser if you need something more pedestrian.

  7. 8 emuneee

    Thanks, I’ll be in touch with everyone soon.

  8. 9 bernhard

    If you need one more tester with a touch HD and WinMo6.1 Non-Stock, I’d be happy to try some betas.

  9. I left a comment on the XDA forum.
    A key feature I’m also looking for is “post feed link to Twitter”.
    Would be really nice!!

  10. 12 Todd

    I just tried this today and the program is great! If you need any more help with Beta Testing, I would be happy to help (I have an HTC Touch Pro with a stock Verizon ROM).

    Also, I have a feature request… If I subscribe to a pod or video cast in my reader, when I click on it in Speed Reader it only gives me an option to download the file. It would be great if it could also have an option to open the file. This would make “streaming” pod/videocasts possible using speed reader.

    Thanks for all your work on this!


Leave a Reply

